Canalys: Global PC market up 13% in Q2 2021 amid strong commercial demand

Shanghai (China), Bengaluru (India), Singapore, Reading (UK) and Portland (US) – Monday, 12 July 2021

The global PC market continued its growth streak in the second quarter of 2021, as shipments of desktops and notebooks, including workstations, rose 13% year on year to hit 82.3 million units, according to the latest Canalys data. Demand remains high, particularly due to a strong commercial segment, as the pandemic-driven urgency for consumers to get their hands on PCs is starting to wane. Component supply issues remain a problem for the industry, but the extent of order shortfalls and backlogs is reducing. Notebook and mobile workstation shipments grew 15% year on year, reaching 66.7 million units, while desktop and desktop workstation shipments were up 6% at 15.6 million units.

The top five PC vendors all managed to sustain shipment growth in Q2 2021, with commercial demand from recovering businesses acting as the key driver. Lenovo extended its lead at the top, with impressive annual growth of 14.7% and shipments above the 20-million-unit mark for a third consecutive quarter. HP held onto second place but with the smallest shipment volume growth of the top five, up just 2.8% as it suffered slowdowns in EMEA and Japan. Dell posted healthy growth of 16.5% to close in on the top two, with its strength in the commercial sector coming to the fore as business recovery drove new orders. Apple and Acer rounded out the top five with double-digit growth, posting shipments of 6.4 million and 6.0 million units respectively.

Worldwide desktop, notebook and workstation shipments (market share and annual growth)
Canalys PC Market Pulse Q2 2021

Vendor (company)

Q2 2021
shipments

Q2 2021
market share

Q2 2020
shipments

Q2 2020
market share

Annual
growth

Lenovo

 20,004

24.3%

 17,434

23.9%

14.7%

HP

 18,594

22.6%

 18,082

24.8%

2.8%

Dell

 13,976

17.0%

 11,994

16.4%

16.5%

Apple

 6,412

7.8%

 5,351

7.3%

19.8%

Acer

 6,027

7.3%

 4,984

6.8%

20.9%

Others

 17,314

21.0%

 15,138

20.7%

14.4%

Total

 82,327

100.0%

 72,983

100.0%

12.8%

Note: Unit shipments in thousands. Percentages may not add up to 100% due to rounding.
Source: Canalys PC Analysis (sell-in shipments), July 2021

 

“The PC market could not be in a better position,” said Canalys Research Director Rushabh Doshi. “The slowdown in consumer demand, stemming from fulfilment of backlogs and greater market penetration, has been nicely balanced by growing commercial demand, as markets around the world limp back to normality. PC vendors now have two key business opportunities – first-time PC users and upgraders. With the installed base having blown up massively in the past year, upgrade opportunities will provide a strong long-term sales pipeline. Let us not forget, some of the most exciting platform innovation is happening now. Apple with ARM and macOS updates, Microsoft with Windows 11 and Google with Chrome OS are poised to make PCs their next battlefield, which can only benefit vendors and their supply chain partners.”

Note: tablets (slates and detachables) are not addressed in this press release. Chromebooks are included as a subset of notebooks.

For more information, please contact:

Canalys China
Emma Xu: emma_xu@canalys.com +86 158 0075 6471
Nicole Peng: nicole_peng@canalys.com +86 150 2186 8330

Canalys India
Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +91 99728 54174
Jash Shah: jash_shah@canalys.com +91 74117 22710

Canalys Singapore
Ishan Dutt: ishan_dutt@canalys.com +65 8399 0487 
Himani Mukka: himani_mukka@canalys.com +65 8223 4730

Canalys UK
Trang Pham: trang_pham@canalys.com +44 7881 934 784
Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 7824 114 350

Canalys USA
Marcy Ryan: marcy_ryan@canalys.com +1 650 862 4299
Brian Lynch: brian_lynch@canalys.com +1 503 927 5489

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please contact us. Alternatively, you can email press@canalys.com.

 

Please click here to unsubscribe

 


Copyright © Canalys. All rights reserved.


 

 

For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com

 

PDF download

 Canalys: Global PC market up 13% in Q2 2021 amid strong commercial demand

 


Share this article