iPhone shipments return to growth as the Galaxy S8 tests Android smartphone pricing limits

          

Palo Alto, Shanghai, Singapore and Reading (UK) – Wednesday, 2 August 2017


Samsung continued to lead the worldwide smartphone market in Q2 2017 with shipments of over 79 million units, leaving growth relatively flat. Apple held on to second place by shipping 41 million iPhones, increasing its annual shipments volume by 2%, despite anticipation building for a significant product refresh later in the year. Worldwide shipments of 38 million units, growth of 20% for Huawei, helped it close the gap with the leading pair and get within 3 million units of taking the second place from Apple. Oppo and Xiaomi were the top performers in fourth and fifth spot, growing shipments 44% and 52% respectively.

Over 340 million smartphones shipped in Q2 2017, an increase of almost 4% year on year. “The smartphone market continued to grow in Q2, despite India and China both slipping into decline,” commented Canalys Research Analyst Vincent Thielke. “Smartphone shipments to North America increased around 7% year on year, with Apple growing 10%.  Apple outperformed Samsung despite the launch of the Galaxy S8, and growing anticipation for the next iPhone.”

“Shipments of the S8 have been strong in some regions, but there are signs that demand has been overestimated,” said Canalys Senior Analyst Tim Coulling. “Canalys’ channels research has revealed inventory buildup in Europe, which when combined with discounting in the US, indicates Samsung may be testing the limits of Android smartphone pricing. As Apple looks to refresh the iPhone, even with its unique user experience, it too must justify any significant price increases with tangible improvements to both feature set and design.”

For more information, please contact:

Canalys EMEA: +44 118 984 0520
Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 118 984 0525
Tim Coulling: tim_coulling@canalys.com +44 118 984 0533

Canalys APAC (Shanghai): +86 21 2225 2888
Hattie He: hattie_he@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2814
Mo Jia: mo_jia@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2812

Canalys APAC (Singapore): +65 6671 9399
Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +65 6671 9387
Ishan Dutt: ishan_dutt@canalys.com +65 6671 9396

Canalys Americas: +1 650 681 4488
Chris Jones: chris_jones@canalys.com +1 650 450 1513

Vincent Thielke: vincent_thielke@canalys.com +1 650 656 9016

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please complete the contact form on our web site.

Alternatively, you can email press@canalys.com or call +1 650 681 4488 (Palo Alto, California, USA), +65 6671 9399 (Singapore), +86 21 2225 2888 (Shanghai, China) or +44 118 984 0520 (Reading, UK).

 

PDF version
461KB
For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com
Or call:
Canalys APAC: Singapore Tel: +65 6671 9399 or
Shanghai, China Tel: +86 21 2225 2888
Canalys Americas: Palo Alto, USA Tel: +1 650 681 4488
Canalys EMEA: Reading, UK Tel: +44 118 984 0520