Canalys expects fewer than 2 million foldable smartphones will ship in 2019

Palo Alto, Shanghai, Singapore and Reading (UK) – Monday, February 25 2019

Foldable phones have arrived, in the shape of the Samsung Galaxy Fold and Huawei Mate X. More vendors will soon follow with their own takes on foldable displays, but 2019 will not be the year that foldable phones go mainstream. They will remain exclusively ultra-luxury devices, and Canalys expects fewer than 2 million foldable phones will ship worldwide in 2019.

 “Foldable phones are now in mass production, and vendors have set realistic expectations for their sales performance,” said Canalys Senior Director Nicole Peng. “Samsung and Huawei will account for the majority of foldable smartphones shipped in 2019. But high shipment numbers are not the priority. The goal is to capture consumer awareness, and each vendor wants to prove it can achieve the greatest technological advances with its new industrial designs.”

“Cost is the key factor that will hinder adoption,” said Canalys Senior Analyst Ben Stanton. “The ‘fold-out’ design (with the screen on the outside, as used on the Mate X) will eventually lend itself to cheaper devices, as manufacturers won’t need to include as many cameras, nor a second ‘outside’ screen (which the Samsung has), and the bend on the flexible screen won’t need to be as tight. But these devices will come too late to affect this year’s shipment numbers significantly. In 2019, vendors offering foldable phones must ensure excellent quality and durability. Any early teething problems or breakages will sour the foldable form-factor before it has had a chance to get going.”

For more information, please contact:

Canalys EMEA: +44 118 984 0520
Ben Stanton: ben_stanton@canalys.com +44 118 984 0525
Kelly Wheeler: kelly_wheeler@canalys.com +44 118 984 0529

Canalys APAC (Shanghai): +86 21 2225 2888
Nicole Peng: nicole_peng@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2815
Mo Jia: mo_jia@canalys.com +86 21 2225 2812

Canalys APAC (Singapore): +65 6671 9399
Rushabh Doshi: rushabh_doshi@canalys.com +65 6671 9387
Shengtao Jin: shengtao_jin@canalys.com +65 6657 9303

Canalys Americas: +1 650 681 4488

Vincent Thielke: vincent_thielke@canalys.com +1 650 656 9016
Marcy Ryan: marcy_ryan@canalys.com +1 650 681 4487

About Canalys

Canalys is an independent analyst company that strives to guide clients on the future of the technology industry and to think beyond the business models of the past. We deliver smart market insights to IT, channel and service provider professionals around the world. We stake our reputation on the quality of our data, our innovative use of technology and our high level of customer service.

Receiving updates

To receive media alerts directly, or for more information about our events, services or custom research and consulting capabilities, please contact us.

Alternatively, you can email press@canalys.com or call +1 650 681 4488 (Palo Alto, California, USA), +65 6671 9399 (Singapore), +86 21 2225 2888 (Shanghai, China) or +44 118 984 0520 (Reading, UK).

Please click here to unsubscribe

 

Copyright © Canalys 2019. All rights reserved.

Americas: Suite 317, 855 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301, US | tel: +1 650 681 4488
APAC: Room 310, Block A, No 98 Yanping Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200042, China | tel: +86 21 2225 2888
APAC: 133 Cecil Street, Keck Seng Tower, #13-02/02A, Singapore 069535 | tel: +65 6671 9399
EMEA: Diddenham Court, Lambwood Hill, Grazeley, Reading RG7 1JQ, UK | tel: +44 118 984 0520
email: inquiry@canalys.com | web: www.canalys.com

 

For more information:
e-mail press@canalys.com
Or call:
Canalys APAC: Singapore Tel: +65 6671 9399 or
Shanghai, China Tel: +86 21 2225 2888
Canalys Americas: Palo Alto, USA Tel: +1 650 681 4488
Canalys EMEA: Reading, UK Tel: +44 118 984 0520

 

PDF download

 Canalys expects fewer than 2 million foldable smartphones will ship in 2019

 


Share this article